

Track Schedules	Driver Profiles	Photos	Racing Links
Discussion Board	Live Chat	News Archives	Advertising
	Weather	Driver T-Shirts	

Iowa State Fair Championship Winners: Davis Jr., Gustin, Moro, Maschke & Gladson

By David Wilkinson

DES MOINES, Ia (Aug 31) Season championships were run Friday at the Iowa State Fair Speedway on a beautiful summer evening as Steve Jackson captured his 27th career track championship in IMCA stock cars. No driver accepted the JJAM challenge from promoter Mick Trier in which he could give up the first or second row starting position for the rear row and a chance to win double the purse. Race winners were Bill Davis Jr. in IMCA modifieds, Rick Gustin in IMCA stock cars, Tony Moro in Karl Chevrolet dirt trucks, Justin Maschke in IMCA hobby stocks and Rick Gladson in IMCA SportMods.

Entering competition, the tightest point's race of the night was in the IMCA modifieds where Pat Graham led Randy Havlik by one point. At the drop of the green, Havlik shot into the lead followed by Graham. On the second lap of the 15-lap race, Bill Davis Jr. captured second and started his chase of Havlik. On lap six, Davis took the lead and roared away from Havlik and Graham who raced for second. On lap 14, Graham passed Havlik for second with the order at the checkered - Davis followed by Graham, Havlik, and John Davis. Unofficially, Graham won the point championship.

The Karl Chevrolet dirt truck championship race started the night with the son and father team of Bret and Carl Moyer atop the points with Bret ahead by 17. Bret took the lead at the start and put some distance between him and the field. Running second was Rick Clark. On lap four and five, Moyer was loose coming off turn four allowing Clark the opportunity to close the gap. Charging through the field was Tony Moro, who started 15th and passed by Moyer on lap 12 for the lead. He won going away followed by Paul Nagle, Lou Sipolt Jr., and Clark. Unofficially, Bret Moyer won the point championship.

Steve Jackson entered the IMCA stock car race with a 44-point lead over Rick Gustin. Gustin led the 15-lap race from green to checkered with Jackson always nearby. Even as they passed lapped traffic in this race ran without a caution, Gustin maintained first and the finish was Gustin, Jackson, Josh Daniels and Travis Hansaker. Jackson also leads in points at the Boone Speedway.

Rick Gladson entered the IMCA SportMod feature with a five-point lead over Fred Schimmels. Gladson led all ten laps of the feature to gain the victory. Finishing second was Ryan Lundy, third was Brett Moffitt, and fourth was Tommy Killen Jr. Unofficially, Gladson won the point championship. He was the only points leader to win the season championship race on Friday.

1 1

Rex Bonnett entered the IMCA hobby stock main with a 14-point lead over Kevin Fee. The race was restarted after a big collision coming out of turn four on the first lap. Justin Maschke led from the restart to the finish followed by Rob Allison, Jim Walker and Bonnett. Walker, who started 20th, had to qualify through the B-feature to make the race. Unofficially, Bonnett won the point championship.

Results Season Championships IMCA Modifieds

Feature

- 1 Bill Davis Jr., Des Moines
- 2 Pat Graham, Ames
- 3 Randy Havlik, Waukee
- 4 John Davis, Altoona
- 5 Russ Gladson, DM
- 6 Ryan Giles, WDM
- 7 Greg Cox, Altoona
- 8 Buck Killen, DM

IMCA SportMods

Feature

- 1 Rick Gladson, Des Moines
- 2 Ryan Lundy, Knoxville
- 3 Brett Moffitt, Grimes
- 4 Tommy Killen, Jr., DM
- 5 Fred Schimmels, Van Meter
- 6 Ray Stock Jr., Ankeny
- 7 Gary Stajcar, Bondurant
- 8 Tim Young, DM
- 9 Kenny Hay, DM
- 10 Tom Killen, DM
- 11 John Wells, West Des Moines
- 12 Gene Behle, Des Moines
- 13 Kevin Fee, Knoxville

IMCA Stock Cars

Feature

- 1 Rick Gustin, Marshalltown
- 2 Steve Jackson, Des Moines
- 3 Josh Daniels, Des Moines
- 4 Travis Hansaker, Melcher
- 5 Gary Bass, Des Moines
- 6 Kent Knopf, Granger
- 7 Ty Hill, Dallas Center
- 8 Matt Pinegar, Altoona
- 9 Todd Fisher, Altoona
- 10 Robert Koeneman, Des Moines
- 11 Don Wear Des Moines

- 1 1 DOII 11 CAI, DOS 1110IIICS
- 12 Rich Reed, DM
- 13 Butch Bass, Winterset
- 14 Terry McDowell, Des Moines
- 15 Steve Hill, Des Moines
- 16 Robbie Merkley, Altoona
- 17 Danny Hill, Des Moines
- 18 Randy Killen, Des Moines

IMCA Hobby Stocks

- B-Feature (top 4 to Championship feature)
- 1 Jim Walker, DM
- 2 Tim Teff, DM
- 3 David Castellano Jr., Des Moines
- 4 Vern Luncsford, Des Moines
- 5. #30t
- 6. #13

Feature

- 1 Justin Maschke, Knoxville
- 2 Rob Allison, Des Moines
- 3 Jim Walker, DM
- 4 Rex Bonnett, Pleasantville
- 5 Bob Johnson, Des Moines
- 6 Adam Hagen, Des Moines
- 7 Todd Bass, Des Moines
- 8 Richard Yaw II, Pleasant Hill
- 9 Bob Allison, Des Moines
- 10 Blake Miller, DM
- 11 Troy Oliver, Des Moines
- 12 David Castellano Jr., Des Moines
- 13 Tim Teff, DM
- 14 Vern Luncsford, Des Moines
- 15 Lawrence Dorsey, DM
- 16 Steve Clair, Des Moines
- 17 Paul Wheeler, Des Moines
- 18 Jeff Wright, DM
- 19 Bruce Wolfe, Des Moines
- 20 Cory Adams, Des Moines
- 21 Kevin Fee, Knoxville
- 22 John Yaw Sr., Des Moines
- 23 Greg Hower, Des Moines
- 24 John Nelson, DM

Karl Chevrolet Dirt Truck Series

Feature

- 1 Tony Moro, Ankeny
- 2 Paul Nagle, Nevada
- 3 Lou Sipolt, Altoona
- 4 Rick Clark, Des Moines

- A 1 3 # A 1

- 5 Carı Moyer, Ankeny
- 6 Bret Moyer, Polk City
- 7 Mike Todd, Altoona
- 8 Tim Murray, Van Meter
- 9 Bob Murray, DM
- 10 Jeff Luke, Des Moines
- 11 Mark Fee, Knoxville
- 12 Bryan Nevins Jr., DM
- 13 Ed Nelson, Van Meter
- 14 Del Enos, Des Moines
- 15 Bugs Vincent, Nevada
- 16 Mike Hoffman, Adel
- 17 Brian Murray, Altoona
- 18 Pat Fagen, Des Moines

Cruizers

Heat Winner – Rod Richards & Bill Burkmire

Feature

- 1. Richards & Burkmire
- 2. Darren Brown & Mike Kossack
- 3. Mickey & Dave Mitchell
- 4. Kevin Fields & Jamie Jeter